What is a flubber?

Flubber is a movie that's a remake of the movie The Absent Minded Professor. The college professor makes a rubber like substance that can help people and things to fly. It is also the name given to a rubbery polymer made by mixing polyvinyl alcohol with a boron compound. It doesn't make things fly.