What does it mean when someone says that's an understatement?

It means they believe that the statement being made is too subtle, or low key. An example might be in response to the statement, Susan is fun. In this case, the person would be indicating they believe Susan is a non-stop laugh riot, as if fun is not a strong enough word on its own.