What year was delta dawn?

“Delta Dawn” is a song written by former child rockabilly star Larry Collins and songwriter Alex Harvey, best known as a 1972 top ten country hit for Tanya Tucker and a number one hit for Helen Reddy in 1973. The first recording of “Delta Dawn” made by Harvey for his album released in November 1971.