Is there a such thing as drinking too much water?

Although uncommon, it's possible to drink too much water. When your kidneys can't excrete the excess water, the sodium content of your blood is diluted which can be life-threatening. In general, though, drinking too much water is rare in healthy adults who eat an average American diet.