How long do you boil potatoes when you're making mashed potatoes?

It depends on how you boil them. If you peel and dice them, about 10 minutes but they'll absorb more water and be less flavorful this way. If you leave them whole it can take closer to 30 minutes. Also make sure not to overfill your pot.