Is carbon a gas?

Carbon is in carbon dioxide, which is a greenhouse gas that works to trap heat close to Earth. It helps Earth hold the energy it receives from the Sun so it doesn't all escape back into space. If it weren't for carbon dioxide, Earth's ocean would be frozen solid.