What's a petty knife?

“Petty,” a word borrowed by the Japanese from the French word “petit”(meaning “small”), made its way into the English language to describe a small knife. A petty knife is a perfect complement to a gyuto—where your gyuto is big enough to take down a big squash and make clean slices of meat.