In the song twelve days of christmas what happens on the twelfth day?

In the Christmas Song "The Twelve Days of Christmas," the lyric is "On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 12 drummers drumming." Then you repeat all the other gifts until you get back to "and a partridge in a pear tree."