What is the home run derby?

The Home Run Derby is an annual home run hitting competition in Major League Baseball (MLB) customarily held the day before the MLB All-Star Game, which places the contest on a Monday in July.

---

It is a contest to see how many home runs one can hit within a given time limit or time frame or perhaps even a pitch count.