How do you defrost something in the microwave?

Follow the specific microwave directions. Microwaves vary in the voltage. A higher voltage will take less time than a lower one. The microwave should ask how many pounds you want to defrost, then select the time and beep for you to turn the food over so it defrosts evenly.