When was the first rocket blasted into space?

The first rocket to enter outer space was the German V 2. It was used late in the Second World War and first fired on June 20 1944.

---

The first rocket which actually launched something into space was used to launch Sputnik, the first satellite, on October 4, 1957. The rocket that launched Sputnik was a R-7 ICBM rocket.