Do monarch caterpillars have eyes?

Caterpillars have six pairs of simple eyes (ocelli). Ocelli (also called stemmata) are small, simple eyes that can detect changes in light intensity, but cannot form an image.

---

Monarch butterfly larvae and caterpillars have 12 eyes, six on each side of their heads. With those eyes they can tell light and dark