Are sharks really dangerous?

Yes, in general sharks can be dangerous to humans, but only a few species are prone to unprovoked attacks. Most species are shy and do not consider humans food. There are even several species which are gentle and harmless. However, it is best to stay clear of all of them for your safety and theirs.