Can possums have rabies?

Yes, the opossum, a marsupial native to North America, can contract rabies if it is bitten by, or exposed to the saliva of, an animal which infected with the disease. However since marsupials have a lower average body temperature than other mammals, it's been discovered they rarely contract it