What is an eighties hair band?

80's hair bands are rock bands from the 1980's characterized by long haired musicians, visually flamboyant and prone to shout-along hooks in ways that made them saleable in a video-single format. Bon Jovi, Britny Fox, Cinderella, Motley Crue, Def Leppard, Poison, Quiet Riot, Van Halen, Kiss, etc.