Which film has taken the most money?

The highest grossing film to date, adjusted for inflation and CD/DVD sales, is "Gone With the Wind". Released in 1939, it has grossed over 3.7 billion dollars. Avatar, released in 2009, is the 2nd highest gross, taking in 3.25 billion dollars.