What is the difference between toffee and taffy?

Taffy, invented in the United States, is made by stretching a sticky mass of boiled sugar, butter or vegetable oil, flavorings, and colorings, until it is light, fluffy, and chewy. Toffee is sugar & butter boiled until the mix is stiff enough to be pulled into a slab and allowed to cool.