Tell me about ground bees?

Not all bees live in hives like honey bees do. In fact, 70% of all the 20,000 species of bees nest under ground. Nests of these bees are easy to identify above ground because of the conical piles of dirt with a large hole in the middle that serves as the entrance to the bee burrows.

---

Ground nesting or miner bees are solitary bees that create underground galleries, with queens living individually and raising their own young. The entrances to the nests are small piles or patches of bare soil.