Who is mrs o'leary?

Catherine O'leary was an Irish immigrant living in Chicago in the mid 1800's. A news reporter claimed that the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 was caused when Mrs. O'leary's cow knocked over a lantern while being milked. The reporter later admitted that he made up the story.