How much did america buy alaska for?

Alaska was purchased on March 30, 1867 by the United States from the Russian Empire for $7.2 million. Though called Seward's Folly for William Seward, the Secretary of State who made the purchase, in time Alaska would become a rich and vibrant addition to American culture.