How does a wishbone work?

Villagers would then pick up the furcula and gently stroke it while making a wish — giving it its more common name, the wishbone. ... Then, two people hook their pinkie fingers around each end, make a wish and pull. Whoever ends up with the bigger piece will have their wish come true.