What part of the pig is pork loin from?

Pork loin is a wide and thick rectangular cut of pork from the loin muscle of the pig, the midsection that runs from the shoulder to the rear. More specifically, pork loin is cut from the back, between the back fat and the ribs. Pork loin commonly has a thin layer of fat running along its top.