Why is a hamper called a hamper?

The word hamper in America, according to the Dictionary of American Regional English, appears to be Southern in origin and usage. By the early 1800s, Southerners deposited fruits, vegetables or grains in a large bin they called a “bushel hamper” or “hamper basket.”