Why is it called a q-tip?

Q-tips got their name from the quality (Q) tips of cotton wool at their ends. They were invented by Leo Gerstenzang after he watched his wife adding cotton to the ends of toothpicks. Q-tips were originally marketed with the name Baby Gays.