What causes babies to have hiccups?

They are caused by sudden contractions of the diaphragm triggered by irritation or stimulation of that muscle. Some leading pediatricians are of the opinion that infant hiccups are usually caused by feeding breast, formula or other foods or by a drop in temperature that causes the baby to get cold.