When did michael jackson first do the moonwalk?

Michael Jackson debuted the moonwalk during a performance of the song Billy Jean, which aired on the television broadcast of Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever.

---

It's been 38 years since Michael Jackson took the stage to perform his first moonwalk to an audience of 47 million people. Michael Jackson was performing his new song 'Billie Jean' on May 16, 1983, when an extraordinary moment took place that changed dance history.