Who wrote the queen's gambit screenplay?

The Queen's Gambit is a book written by American Walter Tevis. who died in 1984. Scottish Screenwriter Allen Scott purchased the rights for the film, from Tevis' widow and wrote a script.. The TV series was created by Scott Frank who servers as writer, director and executive producer.