What was the first animal to receive the purple heart?

The first dog to ever earn a Purple Heart was a German Shepherd mix named Chips, who was a national war hero after helping to capture 10 Italians during World War II. However, after a Purple Heart national commander protested to the War Department, Chips was stripped of the medals.