What is gum shoes?

Why are they called gum shoes? Some shoe soles at the turn of the 19th century were made from gum rubber—a soft-soled precursor of our modern sneaker bottoms. 'Gumshoes' were shoes or boots made of this gum rubber. Such soft-soled shoes allowed for a quiet step.

---

Gum shoe is a slang term for a detective or investigator.