Why do onions make ice water?

When onions are chopped, enzymes that are released react with the sulfur, creating amino acid sulfoxides, which creates a gas of sulfuric acid, sulfur dioxide, and hydrogen sulfide, that triggers a burning sensation via the ciliary nerve.