When was the first spaceship launched into space?

The first unmanned spacecraft, the Soviet Union's Sputnik 1, was launched into space on October 4, 1957. Within 4 years, the first manned spacecraft, Vostok 1, carried cosmonaut Yury Gagarin into space.