What's a japanese cucumber?

Japanese cucumbers are similiar to English cucumbers. They are, long, narrow and have a prickly exterior. They were bred to be "burpless" and tend to be much less bitter than some types of cucumbers. Use raw, in salads, but may also be used for tea sandwiches or in chilled cucumber soup.