What is the bird virus?

Bird flu, also called avian influenza, is a viral infection that can infect not only birds, but also humans and other animals. Most forms of the virus are restricted to birds. H5N1 is the most common form of bird flu. ... Currently, the virus isn't known to spread via human-to-human contact.