Why are eggshells white?

White-feathered chickens with white earlobes lay white eggs; red ones with red earlobes lay brown eggs; and the Ameraucana breed, also known as the Eastern egg chicken, lays eggs with blue shells. That said, the type of feed can affect the egg's nutritional content, as well as its yolk color.