How many cups of cheese are in twelve ounces?

Shredded cheese is lighter than solid cheese. A cup and a half of shredded cheese would be around twelve ounces. Different cheese would weigh differently. On average twelve ounces would be between a cup and a quarter and a cup and three quarters.