What causes hardening of the arteries?

Hardening of the arteries is a disorder in which arteries (blood vessels that carry oxygenated blood from the heart to other parts of the body) become narrowed because fat is first deposited on the inside walls of the arteries, then becomes hardened by fibrous tissue and calcification.