How do you tell the watermelons ripe?

If the melon still has a bit of its stem attached at one end, make sure it is green and not dried out and brown.Ground Spot. When a watermelon is ripe, you'll see a patch of white or yellow rind on its underside. Smooth Skin. Give the rind a close inspection on all sides. Hollow Sound,Nice and Heavy