Do alligators eat elephants?

As opportunistic hunters, crocodiles have been known to prey on baby elephants.

---

Crocodiles will attack baby elephants if they are near water. Crocodiles and Alligators both belong to the Crocodilia order, they are members of two quite separate taxonomic families. Alligators DO NOT live in Africa. The only one of the two you will find in Africa is the Nile crocodile.