Where did the phrase let's blow this popsicle stand come from?

In the 1950's a popular teen hangout was around the local drug store, which used to have a soda shop inside, or at a soda fountain (pop stand). In the slang of the day, "Let's blow this pop stand" meant "let's leave this no-longer-interesting place."