At what age should a kid have a phone?

When to give a child their 1st phone is a personal decision that varies based on maturity & need. Answer these questions to decide: Are phone functions age appropriate? Can the child: 1. responsibly care for & use it? 2. practice privacy & safety measures? 3. Appreciate the true cost of phone usage?