Can you sub apple sauce for oil?

Unsweetened applesauce is a great substitute for oil in baked goods, like muffins, cakes, breads because it keeps food moist without all the added saturated fats. Plus, unsweetened applesauce contains naturally occurring sugars that are already sweet, reducing the need for sugar in the recipe.