What's the song macarthur park about?

Jimmy Webb, who wrote the song, explained: "It's clearly about a love affair ending, and the person singing it is using the cake and the rain as a metaphor for that. OK, it may be far out there,.., but I wrote the song at a time in the late 1960s when surrealistic lyrics were the order of the day."