When did christmas trees become a tradition?

Christmas trees go back to the using of evergreens in ancient Egypt and Rome and continued with the German tradition of candlelit Christmas trees. Christmas trees came to America in the 1800s and Christmas trees were also part of the winter solstice celebrations of Queen Victoria in England.