What is the semaphore system?

The semaphore system is the use of a tool to communicate a message over distance, which could include the use of flags, fire, lights, flags or body positions.

---

What is the semaphore system? The Semaphore flag signaling system is an alphabet signalling system based on the waving of a pair of hand-held flags in a particular pattern. The flags are usually square, red and yellow, divided diagonaly with the red portion in the upper hoist.