How are birds classified?

Birds are classified into the Kingdom Animalia (i.e. Animals), the Phylum Chordata (Animals with a backbone). Next in classification is the Class. The Class for birds is Aves. In bird classification the Class Aves is split up into 23 orders. Birds in an order all share very similar characteristics.