How are tomatoes made?

Commercially produced tomatoes generally are started as transplants in the greenhouse 42 to 56 days prior to planting in the field. Growers generally plant 2,600 to 5,800 plants per acre in single rows with 18 to 30 inches between plants in the row on 5.0- to 6.5-foot centers.