Why did the south lose the war?

Lincoln, Grant, Sheridan, Sherman the soldiers and sailors of the Union army and the commitment, vision and will of the population of the United States at the time.

---

The South lacked resources to continue the war and outlast the North. This was compounded by many battles destroying farmlands in the South.