What is the difference between marinara sauce and tomato sauce?

Marinara sauce is a quick sauce, seasoned only with garlic, crushed red pepper, and basil. Tomato sauce, is made with pureed tomatoes, onion, carrot, celery, and bay leaf, then simmered until thickened.