Where does the filet mignon come from on the cow?

The filet mignon cut of beef comes from the tenderloin of the loin of a cow, which is the area on either side of the backbone in front the rump of the animal. Anatomically, the tenderloin is the psoas major muscle. Filet mignon is cut from the smaller end of the tenderloin nearer to the ribs.