What was the name of the first champ in orbit?

Ham the Chimp, first launched into space, on January 31, 1961, as part of U.S.'s space program. Ham's name is for the laboratory that prepared him for his mission—Holloman Aerospace Medical Center. His name was also in honor of the commander of Holloman Aeromedical Laboratory, Hamilton Blackshear.